Close This Window

Please download official ILL logos here


For using on the web or on a screen

For printing in high resolution

White version, for dark backgrounds

Download PNG

Download AI

Download white PNG

Download JPG

Download EPS

Download white AI

SENSE 2010

Superconductivity Explored by
Neutron Scattering Experiments
Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble, France
21 – 23 October 2010

Back to ILL Homepage
English French Deutsch 

Past events

Superconductivity Explored by Neutron Scattering Experiments

Group photo

Workshop summary

The microscopic origin of unconventional superconductivity continues to attract the attention of the condensed matter community. Whereas rare-earth / actinide-based intermetallic and copper oxide-based high temperature superconductors are studied for more than twenty years, the iron-based superconductors have been in the focus of interest since their recent discovery. Inelastic neutron scattering experiments have been of particular importance for the understanding of the magnetic and superconducting properties of these compounds.
The Institut Laue - Langevin and its collaborating research groups from the CEA-Grenoble and JCNS organized the SENSE workshop jointly. It took place from October 21, 2010 to October 23, 2010 at the Institut Laue – Langevin, Grenoble, and was supported by the ILL, the INAC, CEA Grenoble,  the JCNS, the LLB, the 'Ville de Grenoble' and the 'Région Rhône Alpes'.

With its 29 talks and 14 posters the workshop provided a forum for the 71 registered participants to review and discuss experimental achievements, recognize the observed commonalities and differences as well as discuss theoretical efforts to identify the symmetry of the superconducting order parameter in addition to the coupling mechanisms of the Cooper pairs. The workshop covered different topics relevant for the study of unconventional superconductivity. Magnetization and lattice dynamics such as spin resonances, phonons, magnetic and other excitations as studied by spectroscopic methods were presented. Investigations of (doping, pressure and magnetic field dependent) phase diagrams, electronic states as well as vortex physics by the various diffraction techniques were also addressed.

International Advisory Committee

  • W. Bao (Renmin Univ. Beijing, China)
  •  P. Bourges (LLB Saclay, France)
  •  C. Broholm (J. Hopkins Univ., USA)
  •  E. Forgan (U. Birmingham, UK)
  •  S. Hayden (Bristol University, UK)
  •  B. Keimer (MPI Stuttgart, Germany)
  •  J. Mesot (PSI, Switzerland)
  •  O. Stockert (MPI Dresden, Germany

Local Organizing Committee

  •  Arno Hiess (ILL)
  • Stéphane Raymond (CEA-Grenoble, INAC)
  •  Karin Schmalzl (FZ Jülich, JCNS at ILL)


  • Laurence Tellier, ILL, tel.: +33 (0) 4 76 20 70 60,     Fax: +33 (0) 4 76 20 76 88



List of Participants